Day 8

April 23rd, 2014
Mile 68 – mile 78
10 miles total

My alarm went off at 5:10am but I ignored it. I was finally getting some sleep. I got out of the tent at 6:15 and did my shuffle of pain caused by Plantar Fasciitis. I hobbled to a nearby Bush that was out of sight from everyone else and I quickly urinated. I was a little slow in getting my stuff packed up but I eventually got everything back in my bag. Some day I’ll figure out the most efficient way to do this.
I wrote a quick note in the sand with my trekking pole for Cody telling him what time I was there. If he was behind me (which I doubt) then he might see it and know approximately where I am.

DSCF2443
The first hour or two I was walking on the side of the cliff that covered me from the sun. Quite enjoyable. Eventually the trail led to the other side of this big hill and I was now in the sun.

DSCF2442
Today was flippin hot. A bunch of hikers passed me and said they would see me later. One guy, Michael, said that I should plan on starting really early in the morning and take a siesta in the afternoon to avoid the sun. I agreed with him and wondered why I’m not doing that already.
I walked and I walked.

DSCF2447
I saw two snakes in my path and tried to shoo them away. They would not be shooed. They did slither off after a minute of me telling them to go away. Michael told me I don’t need to worry about any snake but the rattlesnake. All the other snakes are harmless. I want to believe him but what if he’s mistaken.
I got to mile 74 and was so grateful because I knew that I was close to the road. I felt miserably hot. I took off my backpack at one point and poured water on my head. Ahhh, refreshing.

DSCF2448

I made it to the road and saw a sign that gave me two choices. I could go left to Julian to stay at a hotel (risking that it might be full) or I could go right to Stagecoach campground to stay the afternoon. I decided to go camping at Stagecoach because it was only 8 bucks to stay there.
It was only one more mile to the Scissors Crossing cache so if I couldn’t hitch a ride three miles to Stagecoach then I would just continue hiking.
A nice lady named Linda picked me up after 20 minutes of sticking out my thumb. She new exactly here I wanted to go which I was grateful for because I didn’t need to scan the side of the road for the campground.

DSCF2450
After dropping me off I went into the small grocery store and bought some snacks and a soda. I sat my dirty self down on the picnic tables in the shade and started texting my mom.
I asked if she had heard from Cody because I haven’t seen him in a few days. She said no and asked if we got in a fight. No, I responded, he’s just faster than I am. I told her to go head and order maps for him and put them in his resupply boxes so he won’t get lost.

Fancy and her nice looking Kale salad.

Fancy and her nice looking Kale salad.

After I was done chatting with mom I went to take a long shower. After I did laundry for $1.75 and dried the clothes in the sun after. I finally felt clean again.

Map of the campground

Map of the campground

Clean Marcella

Clean Marcella

Surprise! Jen & Whitney showed up. I didn’t know they were going to be here. They quickly picked a site close to the showers and set up their hammocks.
We sat around the picnic table, cooked and talked until dark. At 8:50pm I was too exhausted to call my mom like I promised so I texted her that I was going to bed.
I really wish I could post videos on here because I was taking a short few giving little updates everyday. I’ll see if I can post YouTube videos when I get to Idyllwild.

Leave a comment